PARK DISTRICT OF HIGHLAND PARK BOARD OF PARK COMMISSIONERS MINUTES OF ANNUAL MEETING MAY 24, 2023

The meeting was called to order at 6:02 p.m. President Grossberg.

A motion was made by Commissioner Ruttenberg and seconded by Vice President Freeman to allow Commissioner Kaplan to participate by electronic means.

Roll	Call	:
------	------	---

Aye: Commissioner Bernstein, Commissioner Ruttenberg, Vice President Freeman,

President Grossberg

Nay: None

Absent: None

Abstain: None

Motion Carried

ROLL CALL

Present: Commissioner Bernstein, Commissioner Kaplan, Commissioner Ruttenberg, Vice

President Freeman, President Grossberg

Absent: None

Staff Present: Executive Director Romes; Deputy Director Carr; Director Smith; Director Peters;

Director Gogola; Director Voss; Director Hall; Director Murrin; Manager Nichols;

Manager Ochs; Coordinator Hejnowski

Guest Speakers: None

OATH OF OFFICE

Executive Director Romes conducted the Oath of Office for Commissioner Re-Elect, Terry Grossberg.

Executive Director Romes asked Commissioner Re-Elect, Terry Grossberg, to raise his right hands and to solemnly swear or affirm, that he will support the Constitution of the United States, and the Constitution of the State of Illinois, and that he will faithfully discharge the duties of the Office of Park District Commissioner according to the best of his abilities.

Executive Director Romes congratulated Commissioner Grossberg.

ELECTON OF OFFICERS

A. President

Executive Director Romes opened the floor for nominations for the office of President of the Board of Park Commissioners.

Commissioner Kaplan nominated Commissioner Grossberg for the office of President of the Board of Park Commissioners. A motion was made by Commissioner Kaplan and seconded by Commissioner Ruttenberg to close the floor for nominations for President of the Park Board.

Roll Call:

Aye: Commissioner Bernstein, Commissioner Kaplan, Commissioner Ruttenberg,

Commissioner Freeman, Commissioner Grossberg

Nay: None

Absent: None

Motion carried.

A motion was made by Commissioner Kaplan and seconded by Commissioner Ruttenberg to re-elect Commissioner Grossberg to the office of President of the Board of Park Commissioners.

Roll Call:

Aye: Commissioner Bernstein, Commissioner Kaplan, Commissioner Ruttenberg,

Commissioner Freeman, Commissioner Grossberg

Nay: None

Absent: None

Motion carried.

B. Vice President

President Grossberg opened the floor for nominations for the office of Vice President of the Board of Park Commissioners.

Commissioner Ruttenberg nominated Commissioner Freeman for the office of Vice President of the Board of Park Commissioners. A motion was made by Commissioner Ruttenberg and seconded by Commissioner Kaplan to close the floor for nominations for Vice President of the Park Board.

Roll Call:

Aye: Commissioner Bernstein, Commissioner Kaplan, Commissioner Ruttenberg,

Commissioner Freeman, Commissioner Grossberg

Nay: None

Absent: None

Motion carried.

Annual Meeting Minutes

May 24, 2023

A motion was made by Commissioner Bernstein and seconded by Commissioner Kaplan to elect Commissioner Freeman to the office of Vice President of the Board of Park Commissioners.

Roll Call:

Aye: Commissioner Bernstein, Commissioner Kaplan, Commissioner Ruttenberg,

Commissioner Freeman, President Grossberg

Nay: None

Absent: None

Motion carried.

APPOINTMENTS

A. Secretary/Executive Director – Brian Romes

A motion was made by Commissioner Kaplan and seconded by Commissioner Ruttenberg to appoint Brian Romes to the office of Secretary/Executive Director.

Roll Call:

Aye: Commissioner Bernstein, Commissioner Kaplan, Commissioner Ruttenberg, Vice

President Freeman, President Grossberg

Nay: None

Absent: None

Motion carried.

B. Assistant Secretary – Roxanne Hejnowski

A motion was made by Commissioner Ruttenberg and seconded by Vice President Freeman to appoint Roxanne Hejnowski as the Assistant Secretary acting under the general supervisor of the Secretary/Executive Director to the office of Assistant Secretary.

Roll Call:

Aye: Commissioner Bernstein, Commissioner Kaplan, Commissioner Ruttenberg, Vice

President Freeman, President Grossberg

Nay: None

Absent: None

Motion carried.

C. Treasurer – Mari-Lynn Peters

A motion was made by Commissioner Ruttenberg and seconded by Vice President Freeman to appoint Mari-Lynn Peters to the office of Treasurer.

Annual Meeting Minutes

May 24, 2023

Roll Call:

Aye: Commissioner Bernstein, Commissioner Kaplan, Commissioner Ruttenberg, Vice

President Freeman, President Grossberg

Nay: None

Absent: None

Motion carried.

D. IMRF Authorized Agent - Laurel Hall

A motion was made by Commissioner Ruttenberg and seconded by Vice President Freeman to appoint Laurel Hall as the IMRF Authorized Agent.

Roll Call:

Aye: Commissioner Bernstein, Commissioner Kaplan, Commissioner Ruttenberg, Vice

President Freeman, President Grossberg

Nay: None

Absent: None

Motion carried.

E. Auditor – Sikich LLP

A motion was made by Commissioner Ruttenberg and seconded by Vice president Freeman to appoint Sikich LLP as the auditor for the Park District of Highland Park.

Roll Call:

Aye: Commissioner Bernstein, Commissioner Kaplan, Commissioner Ruttenberg, Vice

President Freeman, President Grossberg

Nay: None

Absent: None

Motion carried.

F. Attorney – Ancel Glink

A motion was made by Commissioner Ruttenberg and seconded by Vice president Freeman to appoint Ancel Glink as the attorney for the Park District of Highland Park.

Roll Call:

Aye: Commissioner Bernstein, Commissioner Kaplan, Commissioner Ruttenberg, Vice

President Freeman, President Grossberg

Nay: None

Absent: None

Motion carried.

Annual Meeting Minutes May 24, 2023

COMMITTEE CHAIRS

President Grossberg reported that the Park Board currently has the following Board Committees, Facility and Recreation, Lakefront, Parks, and Natural Areas, Finance, and Policy. Per Park District policy #2.05, the President of the Board appoints Committee Chairs. The established Board Committee Chairs shall advise the Board on matters presented at the Board Committee Meetings.

Current Chairs and Members are as follows:

• Facility and Recreation

Chair: Vice President Freeman

Members: Commissioner Ruttenberg, Commissioner Bernstein

• Lakefront, Parks, and Natural Areas

Chair: Commissioner Kaplan

Members: Vice President Freeman, President Grossberg

Finance

Chair: Commissioner Bernstein

Members: Commissioner Ruttenberg, Vice President Freeman

Policy

Chair: President Grossberg

Members: Commissioner Ruttenberg, Vice President Freeman

A motion was made by Commissioner Ruttenberg and seconded by Vice president Freeman to keep the same appointments.

Roll Call:

Aye: Commissioner Bernstein, Commissioner Kaplan, Commissioner Ruttenberg, Vice

President Freeman, President Grossberg

Nay: None

Absent: None

Motion carried.

ADJOURNMENT

A motion was made by Commissioner Ruttenberg and seconded by Vice President Freeman and approved by a unanimous vote. The Annual Meeting adjourned at 6:12p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Roxanne Hejnowski, Assistant Secretary

Roxanne Hejnowski